Merge to Email can be launched 1) From the results of a search for multiple profiles using Simple Search or Advanced Search; or 2) From within a single profile by clicking the action gear next to the client’s name in the Profile Manager or within a client profile by clicking Merge to Email on the toolbar.
E-Mail addresses are kept in the communication link within a Profile and a Traveler record.
- Using Merge to E-Mail from the results of a search: When merging information into an email, merge the information to multiple emails from the search results area by clicking Merge to|Merge to Email in the Profile Manager toolbar. A dialog box appears. Select how emails are to be sorted by selecting Name, First Name, Last Name, and Email (default). Choose Primary E-Mail Only or All E-Mails in Profile. By default only emails with marketing permission is checked off.
- Using Merge to E-Mail for a single profile: Click the toolbar Merge to|Merge to Email inside the client’s profile, or directly from the profile search results screen, by clicking the Action Gear located beside the selected profile entry. If more than one email exists within the profile, a grid appears allowing you to select the desired emails you would like to send to.
- Preparing Emails to Send: For each email being sent, notice the Profile Name, Address, Phone and Fax Numbers. To get to other emails in the series, use the navigation buttons, First, Previous, Next, and Last. Any data entered into the first email entry screen appears automatically in the other emails in the series.
To: Includes each individual email address matching your criteria.
Subject: Type the subject of the email. Any email sent MUST have a subject.
CC: Enter any email that you want to receive a copy of this email. (Remember, this appears automatically in the other emails in the series.)
Priority: Select a priority label from the drop-down menu of Highest, High, Normal, Low and Lowest.
Mode: From the drop-down, select, Plain Text or HTML. If you select HTML, two tabs appear, one labeled Compose and one labeled HTML.
Use the Compose tab to type and format your HTML without knowing how to code HTML. A formatting toolbar is included that makes formatting your text, inserting links, pictures and tables very easy. Use the HTML tab if you have Raw HTML that you would like to paste into the email. Anything entered into the Compose tab will then be formatted in raw HTML upon clicking the HTML tab. Anything entered into the HTML tab will then be formatted upon clicking the Compose tab.
Insert Field/Load Template: Complete your message by using any of the global document templates setup by the database administrator in the Windows version of ClientBase.
Tip: If you select Salutation|Courtesy Title Last Name, or Salutation|First Name, or Salutation|Name as a merge field, the | character included in the Salutation means that if the Salutation field is not completed within one of the resulting profiles, then for just that profile, you want it to use the merge field following the |. For any of the name field merge fields, if the email is linked to a passenger, then the passenger’s name fields will be merged. If the email is not linked to a passenger, then the profile name fields will be merged.
Preview: This option allows you to preview message in its formatted state before sending.
Attachments: Add an attachment to email by clicking Browse to locate the attachment, and then Attach.
Mailer: To keep a history of any emails sent, be sure to create a Mailer record by clicking on the Mailer link. These mailers then create a history within each profile whenever an email is sent.
Mail Date/Time: By default, the date and time are auto-filled. These can be changed manually by using the dropdowns.
Subject: Choose a subject for the mailer from the drop-down menu with items setup by the database administrator in the Windows version of ClientBase. By choosing from the drop-downs, consistency is assured for reporting and querying purposes.
Body: By default, the mailer retains a copy of the body of the email.
Click OK to save.
4) Sent Emails
All emails sent from ClientBase create an email job at your SMTP server which can be monitored by clicking the All Email Jobs link. This link allows you to monitor jobs that have not yet been completed to view the status. If you want to cancel an email job before it is finished, you can do so by clicking the Cancel link next to the job. Purge Inactive then deletes any jobs from the listing once they have been cancelled. All email jobs that have completed successfully are automatically be purged from the listing. To return to your email upon viewing this log, click Done.
Tip: If someone wants to be removed from the email list, go into the profile and uncheck marketing permission for that email entry.